May in books

3 June, 2012

clear lake

Once a month the bloggess over at The Time for Change reviews the book’s she’s read recently.  I thought I should do the same, partly to let you know I’m not dead (just dead tired).

Without further ado, books I remember reading in May:

Agent To The Stars, John Scalzi: An entertaining Alien story- from the perspective of a likable Hollywood agent. My favorite Scalzi novel so far. I still have a bit of a problem with the idea of consciousness being transfered across bodies, but this novel treated it far better than the rest– at least Scalzi expresses to some degree that a different, alien body would have a different, alien consciousness. My only other problem was the assumption that all human’s prefer sight to their other senses– as I understand it that’s a western preference, not a universal human one. However, anthropological nit-picking aside, this was a fun, funny, entertaining book I’ll probably read again.
I truly love Scalzi’s writing, he’s one of the funniest writers currently producing– I liken him to an American Terry Pratchett in that he consistently makes me laugh and think. And really, what more can you ask for from fiction?

Myth Direction, Robert Asprin

Probably great for older children- say around age 7-10.  It was only OK.  You could skip it.

American Gods, Neil Gaiman

Destined to be one of my all time favorite books, right up there with “Tonto and the Lone Ranger Fistfight in Heaven” and “The Last Unicorn”. I loved how long it was too- something this tasty needs to be enjoyed as long as possible.

Anonymous Rex, Eric Garcia

The premise was so oddball, so original, I kept at it through the first half of the book (which dragged). It wasn’t great but it wasn’t terrible… it was unique though… and as a bonus cool factor when Eli asked what I was reading and I described it he clearly didn’t believe me, laughing and saying “OK, you don’t have to tell me”.

Married With Zombies, Jesse Peterson

Cute, simple, and almost funny, especially as an audiobook (I listened to this one).

Sandman Slim, Richard Kadrey

Freaking fantastic- quick, funny, dirty, dark– everything I want in a novel and more. I loved how the angels were just as irritating as the demons. I loved how the main character had multiple names, but the use of them wasn’t confusing. I loved how it played on different genras without being too cloying or overdone, I just wish I didn’t have to end. This would make a remarkable movie.

The Liars, Steven Fry

I read the first three chapters and then gave up. Steven Fry might be hilarious, but I have a hard time relating to British teenage gay male boarding school angst.

Strata, Terry Pratchett

Before the Discworld fantasy series, Pratchett apparently wrote sci-fi… I’m not sure if you’ll love it as much as did if you don’t already love Pratchett, but if you like Aliens, mystery, far-off worlds and terra-forming you just might…
Fascinating to see some of Pratchett’s later ideas pop up so early and far away from the Discworld… namely, the discworld itself: it’s surprising how much detail he went into to describe the philosophical and scientific problems living on a flat planet would create, especially knowing that he would spend the next three decades populating such a world.
It amused me to have the character’s briefly visit a familiarly named bar called The Broken Drum ( and why is it called that? Because no one can beat it).

Body Movers, Stephanie Bond

So freaking bad I could barely make it past the first chapter. I read till page 60 or so and decided there are better uses of my time than reading crap fiction. Like collecting used gum for a sculpture or cleaning hair out of a public shower drain or counting bent bristles on someone else’s toothbrush… or maybe something more boring than gross, but either way…

Beat The Reaper, Josh Bazell

Lets forget for a second that I thought this book was awesome- Eli, who hasn’t actually finished a fiction book in over 10 years, closed the final page yesterday.
The main character–lets call him Bearclaw- is the most badass of badasses I’ve ever read. Josh Bazell might not write the most complex or beautiful sentences (although their are *moments* beauty) but he is a master of suspense, violence, and thrill.

The Innkeeper’s Song, Peter Beagle

I thought this was a YA novel until I got to the four-some…
Not my favorite of Beagle’s but full of poetic prose none-the-less.
One of the best lines:
“In my village, one of our priests says that love between men is a great sin- the other argues that nothing at all is sinful except weak ale, overdone meat, and building a fire in any way but his” (274).

Death of a Six-Foot Teddy Bear, Sharon Dunn

I picked this up at Goodwill cause I thought it had a cute title… Three pages in I realized it was a Christian themed mystery… I read it anyway… there were worse things I read this month.

N is For Noose, Sue Grafton

I’ve been rereading Grafton’s novels until I can get a copy of the latest from the library.  They are an excellent way to kill an afternoon.

2 Responses to “May in books”

  1. NGS Says:

    Yay! I added a couple of books to my book list. Thanks for writing up some reviews!

  2. smoothpebble Says:

    I just finished The House of the Scorpion and thoroughly enjoyed it. Told the boys they should read it.
    Now I’ve added American Gods to my list. : )


Leave a Reply

