the cool side of the pillow

9 December, 2009

pods and fingers

I wish I could photo people from above while they are sleeping. I think it would reveal something about them, about all of us. The sheet-hoggers, the teeth-grinders, the jaw clenchers- it all comes out in our sleep. To capture the basic letters of love we write with our bodies, all the Ls and Ss and Xs and Os, the alphabets of space and blankets, of tosses and turns and dogs not quite at the foot and kids tucked under arms and socks everywhere.

5 Responses to “the cool side of the pillow”

  1. Jacob Says:

    I grind my teeth at night because my jaws are forced out of line my my teeth and my brain tries to force my jaw back into alignment while I sleep. I don’t think it says anything about me as a person. I think it says more about how my mother put the aesthetics of her and my sisters teeth over the structural imperfections of my own.

    • batspit Says:

      Jacob, I’ve been clenching my teeth all night long ever since I started college… It means i wake up with headaches… your teeth grinding certainly doesn’t say something about your personality, but it does seem to indicate something about your personal history and physiology… and maybe it says more about your mother. either way, even the act of sleeping is filled with meaning.

      Thanks for the comment!

      -Lea

  2. batspit Says:

    huh. Ever since I started college I clench my teeth all night long … It means I wake up with headaches… Your teeth grinding certainly doesn’t say something about your personality, but it does seem to indicate something about your personal history and physiology… or maybe it says more about your mother. either way, even the act of sleeping is filled with meaning.

  3. smoothpebble Says:

    I am in love with this post!

  4. smoothpebble Says:

    Oh, and I also see an artistic project – the type that fills artistic magazines and gets exhibit time here. Go for it!


Leave a Reply

