Sea Shanties

3 June, 2009

Sunset

I like to sing when I’m drunk.  Or on a boat.  Or gardening.  I don’t sing well, quietly, or even in tune, but with the songs I sing it doesn’t matter.  My grandparents taught me songs before I was old enough to know what the words meant-and unfortunately I’ve forgotten all but one verse of “Let’s have a drink on the house”, and no one but me and my pawpaw seem to know of good ol rattler, but I do remember a few sea shanties and drunken Irish ballads for you to study, for the next time we drink together.

Drunken Sailor

God how I love this song.  Since I was taught this song I’ve learned what ‘keel hauling’ is, and I suggest strongly you *not* look it up.  Same for ‘bilge pump’.  The only good thing that ever came out of a bilge pump was a squid my pawpaw had to pull out with pliers.  And that only happened once.

Lyrics:
What’ll you do with a drunken sailor
What’ll you do with a drunken sailor
What’ll you do with a drunken sailor early in the morning.
Put him in the longboat till he gets sober  (3 times) ….
early in the morning
Hi ho and up she rises,    Hi ho and up she rises
Hi ho and up she rises early in the morning………..(To the TOP)

Put him in the bilge and make him drink it  (3 times)…
Tie him to the scuppers with the hose pipe on him  (3 times)
Shave his belly with a rusty razor  ( 3 times)
Keel haul him till he’s sober  ( 3 times)

Heave him by the leg in a running bowline  ( 3 times)

Molly Malone

I’m pretty sure there is a statue somewhere named after this lady.  Or of the lady from the song.  I don’t know.  PawPaw’s dog likes it when I sing this song to her.  But her name is Molly, so I can’t say for certain that at least dog’s like my singing.

Lyrics
In Dublin’s Fair City
Where the girls are so pretty
I first laid my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
As she wheel’d her wheel barrow
Through  streets broad and narrow
Crying cockles and mussels  alive, alive o!

Chorus
Alive, alive o!, alive, alive o!
Crying cockles and  mussels alive, alive o!

She was a fishmonger
But sure ’twas no wonder
For so were her father and mother before
And they each wheel’d their barrow
Through streets broad and narrow
Crying cockles and mussels alive, alive o!

Chorus
She died of a fever
And no one could save her
And that was the end of sweet Molly Malone
But her ghost wheels her barrow
Through streets broad and narrow
Crying cockles and mussels alive, alive o!

Chorus X3

You tube:

Haul Away Joe

I’m not going to say anything about this song, except i think there is a rule while singing this song someone in the group must be holding a bottle of whiskey, a fiddle, and wearing a white hat.

Lyrics:
Haul Away Joe  Haul away or Long drag shanty
Away, haul away Oh haul away together
Away haul away, Oh haul away Joe
When I was a little lad , my mother told me
Away, haul away Oh haul away together
If I did not kiss the girls my lips they would grow moldy
Away haul away, Oh haul away Joe
First I had a Spanish girl but she was fat and lazy
Away, Haul away, haul away together
But now I’ve got an Irish girl, she damn near drives me crazy
Away haul away, Oh haul away Joe
Away haul away, haul away together
Away haul away, Oh haul away , Joe
King Louis was the king of France before the revo lution
Away haul away haul away together
The people chopped his head off which spoiled his consti – tu – tion
Away, haul away, Oh haul away Joe
Away, haul away , ahead for stormy weather
Away ,haul away, Oh haul away Joe

Somalian Pirates- south park


I wrote my final paper on the globalization involved in piracy, citing South Park heavily.  And it was a damn good paper.

Lyrics:
“We drink and we pillage
and we do what we please,
we get all that we want for free,
we’ll kick your ass
then rape your lass,

Somolian pirates we,
so with a yo-ho-ho
(yo ho ho)
and a ye-he-he
(ye he he)

we take to the African sea,
we’ll brave the squalls
and bust your balls,

Somalian pirates we.
(Somalian pirates we.)

We left our homes and we left our mudders
to go on a pillaging spree
we’ll cut off your ears and break your toes
and make you drink our pee
and if you sail into our waters
you best hear this decree
we’ll take your boat
set your ass afloat

Somalian pirates we

so with a yo ho ho
(yo ho ho)
and a tricky la te do
(tricky la te do)
we’ll shoot you in the face with glee
then we’ll cut off your cock
and feed it to a crock
Somalian Pirates We!”

Barnacle Bill the Sailor

I only really know the chorus, because it irritates my grandpa, whose name is Bill, and has had to endure millions of people singing this song at him.

Lyrics:
ho’s that knocking at my door? Who’s that knocking at my door?
Who’s that knocking at my door , cried the fair – young maiden
It’s me my love it’s only me cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
It’s me my love it’s only me cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
Where were you for seven years, where were you for seven years
Where were you for seven years ? Cried the fair – young maiden
I’ve been to sea, I’ve been to sea, cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
I knew that you would wait for me, cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
I detect the smell of rum. I detect the smell of rum
I detect the smell of rum cried the fair – young maiden
I’ve only had a drink or two , cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
I’m only drunk with love for you cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
Come and meet your son of six come and meet your son of six
Come and meet your son of six, fried the fair – young maiden
A sailor’s pay won’t do for three, cried Barnacle Bill the sailor
Farewell, I’m off across the sea, cried Barnacle Bill the sailor

3 Responses to “Sea Shanties”

  1. Leasoup Says:

    What a great pic that girl, in her element, so to speak 😉

  2. Eli Says:

    thats 15 minutes of good’ol timey music, that right there be.

  3. Eli Says:

    and thats a great pic


Leave a Reply

