archaic, but new to me

4 February, 2009

salt tanks

palimpsest– noun-
1: writing material (as a parchment or tablet) used one or more times after earlier writing has been erased 2 : something having usually diverse layers or aspects apparent beneath the surface
After writing notes to myself in the dark of the drive from Atlanta, I reviewed my notes only to find them a palimpsest of illegible handwriting

Instead of writing: The show “Lost” that I’ve started watching is a goddamn clusterfuck!”
I can calmly report “’Lost’ is a palimpsest of character back-story”.

Eremitic– noun- : hermit ; especially : a religious recluse

Instead of screaming “I’m glad watching ‘Lost’ has rekindled your obsession with Enlightenment philosophy, but please leave your fucking house and take a damn shower”
I can suggest “your ‘Lost’ obsession has become frighteningly similar to religious obsession and your eremitic tendencies are becoming a health issue for the rest of us”

apocryphal – adjective- 1: of doubtful authenticity : spurious

Instead of assuming that “the writers of ‘Lost’ are probably super-smart wallabies on LSD”,
I can articulate that “while strongly suspecting that the plot of ‘Lost’ is a apocryphal process I maintain it is a well written show.”

One Response to “archaic, but new to me”

  1. smoothpebble Says:

    You got sucked in, didn’t you? A definite palimpsest! Are you caught up yet??


Leave a Reply

