Exercising phrases

22 January, 2009

bittersweet

I get paragraphs and phrases stuck in my head the way other people do melodies and songs. At the moment I have one particular phrase so embroiled in my head I fear the only way I will be able to properly exercise it is to inflict and infect someone else with its particular cadence and implicit statements.

Ahem.

“Man is an animal suspended in webs of significance he himself has spun, I take culture to be this web and the analysis of it to be therefore not an experimental science in search of laws but an interpretive one in search of meaning” (Geertz 1973).

3 Responses to “Exercising phrases”

  1. Eli Says:

    I wish there was an emoticon or shorthand for “over my head”. At least you understand it, someone in “this” we share should comprehend Geertz.

    Oh. And it sux i can’t enter fake web addresses here.

  2. Pare Says:

    Further proof you are brilliant? When something gets stuck in my head it is undoubtedly “Do You Know the Muffin Man?” every. single. time.

    🙂

  3. smoothpebble Says:

    Giggling about it all….. Here’s the kind of thing that sticks in my head:
    “milk, milk, lemonade, around the corner fudge is made” of course you gesture to different parts of your body as you say this which gives it an aura of intelligence!


Leave a Reply

