trudgery

11 November, 2008

leaf

There’s no more to research; I need to write, but I can’t.
I mean, I will,
I have to
But there are so many pages to fill and now I’ve read everything there is to read and now I have to shape these words into my own and use their evidence as my evidence and somehow that’s not stealing, somehow that’s real work, but oh it is so comfortable there in the reading- lamplight and pen, collecting words from one paper to another- and now the trick (that nasty whore), to face the blank page- the first two pages are hell I tell you- and then the rest mind-numbing trudgery- that’s right, trudgery- it’s like drudgery and trudged as in up the fucking 90 degree incline of words where the summit is simply another fucking assignment of penultimate proportions…
I’ll get to it, eventually. 
I have to.

3 Responses to “trudgery”

  1. Pare Says:

    Damn this was good. Not to mention ex-act-ly what I’m suffering from right this moment. Only, you know, not so important.

    Hang in, dude.

  2. GraceArtemis Says:

    My best advice: when in doubt, nap. Solved most of my writing dilemmas.

  3. smoothpebble Says:

    Skip the nap, and just go with the million and one distractions – might be a good time to clean out the fridge.
    I envy your fire making abilities!


Leave a Reply

