Mile Marker 45

4 October, 2008

mile marker 45

I said I’ll miss you, but it’s OK, it’s… how it should be. I’m amazed how long the ashes stayed in the current, longer than the rose I tossed on the surface. They didn’t glimmer, they didn’t sparkle, which was surprising. I watched, two inches or so below the still water, dirt given freedom, form beyond language until the sun hurt my eyes and I moved to the aft deck, where I looked for the rose. I found it through my camera lens, barely a glint in the landscape as it rolled in the wake of a passing boat and resurfaced.

One Response to “Mile Marker 45”

  1. smoothpebble Says:

    I just wanted to apologize for my glib comments on your flickr. I had no idea that this was a ceremony of remembering and missing. Please forgive me.


Leave a Reply

