Goodbye

26 September, 2008

sad

Dear Archimedes,
I’d never lived with a bird before, but now I cannot imagine life without you. I think I hear you singing now, but it’s only the door, squeaking open. There will be no polyphonic trills, no sweeping melody, no skirr of rhythm following this noise, there is only a shutting- wood pushing against the floor- closing.
Goodbye my friend, my neat little bird, I’m sorry you could not live longer. I’m sorry the end was so terrible, but I’m so glad you lived with me and made this year a year of song, when it could have been so silent.
-yours

5 Responses to “Goodbye”


  1. I’m so sorry, babe. 😦

  2. Pare Says:

    It made me think of you and your email:

    “Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.”
    — C.S. Lewis

    S’true, you know. But what he doesn’t tell us is that it’s still fucking worth it.

  3. smoothpebble Says:

    Oh Lea, oh Lea, oh Lea. Pare’s right, it is worth it. A broken heart is the perfect container for a song.


Leave a Reply

