If I just knew where I was going I could get there, I swear.

21 August, 2008

dive in

I’m not going to take off in third gear this time.

I’m moving so cautiously though it feels like I’m stuck- neutral shuddering into first, tack swinging instantly to the red, engine screaming for a higher gear, a lower RPM.

The top’s all the way down on my little gray convertible, but only because it’s hot out- I’ve never learned to like turning all these heads.

I’ve been using a map with no clear destination, but it seems like a well-made map and I’ve been told I’m on the right road.

Still, it’s hard to justify the gas for the journey. Where the fuck am I going? Why the hell am I doing this? Should I just pull over now while I can still find my way back? 

The wind hisses through my hair with her usual indifference and scorn and I drive on.

4 Responses to “If I just knew where I was going I could get there, I swear.”

  1. Pare Says:

    I love your photos. I love your tags. I love every sentence you choose to set down here.

    You’re the most brilliant person I know. Truly.

  2. laura Says:

    First of all – this post is lovely.
    Second – I’m really really liking your new layout.
    Third – I’m pretty sure it wasn’t me that checked you out the other day (mostly because I haven’t worked the register lately) but you may have seen me going about my day-to-day nonesense. How funny! One of these days perhaps we’ll run into each other & know it.

  3. smoothpebble Says:

    Lea, hang in there. It will all make sense with hindsight I’m sure! Got your letter – Yippee, planning a road trip – I’m thinking peonies in late May!

    And Ditto Pare!!


Leave a Reply

